Philippine Medical Association (PMA)

Diliman, Quezon City
Tel No.: 97-49-74 ; 97-35-14 ; 99-21-32
Date of Accreditation : September 18, 1975

Organized September 15, 1903, the first association of medical practitioners started as a single city chapter named Manila Medico Society. When its application for membership with the American Medical Society (AMS) was refused because the latter was looking for a national organization, a national medical association was constituted which was named the Philippine Islands Medical Association. Later, it was renamed the Philippine Medical Association (PMA).

The early years of PMA were dominated by American practitioners. In the early 1920’s all positions in the Association were occupied by Filipinos with Dean Antonio Sison of the UP-PGH as its President. The first Filipino President was Dr. Ariston Bautista (1908).

The PMA gained PRC accreditation as the nationally organized professional organization of physicians on September 18, 1975.

For several years now, it has assumed leadership in health-related services here and abroad. It co-founded the Confederation of Medical Association in Asia and Oceania (CMAAO) and the Medical Association of Southeast Asian Nations (MASEAN).

Among the biggest professional organizations in the Philippines, it boasts of 26,000 active members and 103 component societies, 8 specialty divisions and 30 specialty societies with their respective affiliates and sub-specialties under the 8 specialty divisions and other 59 affiliate societies. With a Board of Governors in almost all regions of the country, it seeks to build a strong and solid association, restore the honor and dignity of the profession, and become an active partner of the government in improving health conditions in the Philippines.


Post a Comment

  © Blogger template The Professional Template by 2008

Back to TOP