Teaching Board History

The promulgation of Presidential Decree No. 1006 on September 22, 1976 formally organized the National Board for Teachers (NBT). Directly under the supervision of the Civil Service Commission, the NBT was the first board to exercise regulatory exercise over the teaching profession.

On December 16, 1994 the regulation and licensing of teachers was transferred to the PRC through the enactment of Republic Act No. 7836, otherwise known as “The Philippine Teachers Professionalization Act of 1994.” The law provided for the professionalization of teaching under the aegis of the PRC.

Pursuant to the law, the first Board for Professional Teachers (BPT) was constituted on September 19, 1995 with the appointment of Dr. Nilo L. Rosas as Chairman, Dr. Aurelio O. Elevazo as Vice-Chairman and Dr. Lucila F. Tibigar, Dr. Fe A. Hidalgo and Dr. Martha A. Mogol as Members.

On August 1996, the Board and the PRC administered the Licensure Examination for Teachers (LET) for the first time to 97,560 examinees. In 1997, 101,348 examinees took the LET, a record in the history of professional regulation. In 1998, a total of 115,499 took the LET, and in 1999, 123,025.

In 1996, the Board also administered the first licensure examination for school superintendents, the results of which were released five (5) days after the examination date.

Today, teachers constitute more than half a million, comprising one of the largest occupational groups in the country.

Link to PRC website source


Post a Comment

  © Blogger template The Professional Template by Ourblogtemplates.com 2008

Back to TOP